立蓉概況

Lirong painting in her studio

       格雷森 · 周立蓉1973年出生於中國上海, 當時的藝術只注重傳統。儘管立蓉只喜歡繪畫,但出於實際的考慮,她的醫師母親和化學教授父親還是要求她在大學選修了國際商務。後來她在一家國際公司擔任行政助理。但立蓉還是渴望一種不同的生活。在她25歲那年,她遠赴斐濟教書,一年後,懷著一心追求藝術的熱誠來到了美國。在加州,密蘇里州,馬里蘭州和錫拉丘茲州的中國餐館辛苦打工了一陣後,立蓉積攢了一點錢,報考了紐約市立學院。為了維持生計,她加速學業課程的同時,又辛苦地在曼哈頓餐廳做輪班,曾經不止一次過了午夜,在回布魯克林租處的地鐵上睡著了。記得令她最感驕傲的一刻是她走進天才吧,從口袋中掏出一疊疊五美元和十美元堆得像座小山,買了首台水滴型蘋果電腦。

       儘管生活艱鉅,立蓉還是順利地大學畢業了,並在美國結婚生子。在變成紐約人的同時,她依然時不時得把英語的“她”和“他”混淆。立蓉嘗試了現實主義,表現主義和抽象主義的繪畫風格,她畫過肖像,農舍和穀倉,曼哈頓的連棟別墅和上海的城市風光。

      本網站展出的並不是立蓉的最終畫作。做為一個藝術的追求者和完美主義者,她總是孜孜不倦於下一個作品。在此我們自豪得提供她迄今為止藝術之旅中佳作的印刷本。

Joel Grayson

立蓉概況

          你好我是Lirong的14歲兒子Joel Grayson。由于我對創業精神感到好奇,並且媽媽已經開始創作畫作,因此我決定作為一個暑期項目,將我們的兩個興趣結合起來,並創立了利融藝術公司。我借了一筆貸款,申請了有限責任公司,創建了網站,對繪畫進行了掃描和照相購物,並弄清了法律工作和稅收。我學到了很多東西,很高興我開始了!目前,我負責所有業務,媽媽塗料,爸爸做一些寫作。您可以在 joelgrayson.com 上看到我的其他一些項目。

About Lirong

Lirong painting in her studio

       Lirong Zhou Grayson was born in Shanghai, China in 1973, when Chairman Mao ruled and artistic expression could shorten your life expectancy. In this repressive society, Lirong’s physician mother and chemistry professor father sought to rein in their free-spirited daughter, who mostly cared about drawing. Be practical, they urged, and so she dutifully studied international business in college and later was an executive secretary for an international corporation. But Lirong yearned for a different sort of life. At age 25, she left China for a teaching job in Fiji, and a year later made her way, practically penniless, to the United States, with no clear plans or destination in mind beyond a determination to pursue art.

        Following brief stays in California, Missouri, Maryland and Syracuse, accumulating bits of money toiling at local Chinese restaurants, she enrolled at City College in New York City. To make ends meet she combined an accelerated class schedule with further grueling restaurant shifts, more than once falling asleep on the subway after midnight on the way back to her tiny Brooklyn rented room. One of her proudest moments was approaching the unsuspecting Genius Bar with a stack of crumpled five and ten dollar restaurant earnings to purchase her first Apple computer. Her life was hard, but she was heading in the right direction.  

       In the ensuing years, she took a more traditional path: graduation from college, U.S citizenship, marriage to an American, and motherhood. Her English improved, though like many native Mandarin speakers she still transposes "she's" and "he's," and she has morphed into a true idiosyncratic New Yorker. What hasn’t changed is her passion for art. Lirong experiments in representational, expressionist and abstract styles. She paints portraits, farmhouses and barns, Manhattan townhouses and Shanghai cityscapes. At heart, she is still the free-spirited girl who loves to draw. 

       The paintings displayed on this site are not Lirong’s final contribution. A searcher and perfectionist, she is always focused on the next project. We proudly offer print samples of her splendid works thus far along her artistic journey. 

Joel Grayson

About Joel

           I am Joel Grayson, Lirong's 14-year-old son. I founded Lirong Art as a summer project because I am curious about entrepreneurship and Mom paints. I took out a loan, filed for an LLC, created the website, scanned and photoshopped the paintings, and figured out the legal work and taxes. I am learning a lot and glad I started this! Currently, I run all the business operations, Mom paints, and Dad contributes some writing. My other projects are on joelgrayson.com.